What adaptation is better than the original book in your opinion?

What adaptation is better than the original book in your opinion?

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Would a Call of the Crocodile adaptation even be possible? Both Stephen King and JK Rowling are actual characters in it. So, I have no idea how that would work for a film. They get kidnapped by a Satanic cult and a shota has to save them. It’s ridiculous

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      shut the fuck up you stupid n-word

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      That’s not even the main reason why CotC would be unfilmable. The meta twist is.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >That’s not even the main reason why CotC would be unfilmable. The meta twist is.

        The desired effect could be achieved if tinglers were installed under each seat.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Gardner, I want you to know that if I ever read CotC, it will be for the sole purpose of spoiling the entire book whenever anyone brings it up for any reason. I hate you.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      That sounds kino as fuck

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Requiem for a Dream
    Arguably American Psycho

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      American Psycho isn't even the best book in Ellis' world.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Yes it is baka

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Arguably

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I take it you haven't read either.

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Good film adaptations are rarely from good books because what works in a medium doesn't in the other.
    The Godfather is airport literature but made a great movie screenplay. Meanwhile almost no classics has a great movie adaptation. Arguably Lord of the Rings if that counts as classic. And of course Jason and the Argonauts.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      lol the novel the Godfather is much better than the movie.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I have never heard it mentioned as the greatest novel ever, so…

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Greatest movie ever is a pretty low bar

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Amazing films are commonly adapted from middling novels, but amazing novels are never surpassed by adaptations. e-boita by Kubrick is a great film but the novel is an all-time classic. The rest of his films were adapted from mediocre books.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      for people who complain so much about cliches, you literary fiction types sure like referring to airports so often that it makes my eyes roll

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I like both a lot but they're so different in this case I wouldn't even position them as a choice.

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pride and Prejudice (2005)
    No Country for Old Men (in some ways at least)

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      [log in to view media]

      >No Country for Old Men (in some ways at least)

      I would argue less that the film is a better adaptation of the book than that the film is one of the best adaptations of a book ever made. Dialogue, tone, everything about the film uncannily captures the novel (except Chigurh's physical description, IIRC). Doesn't hurt that the novel is basically written as a screenplay also.

      • 1 week ago
        Anonymous

        Agreed. I think Bell is a much more layered character and actually relevant in the novel while in the movie Chigurh has more presence. Love them both regardless.

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    [log in to view media]

    pic related is the greatest book to film adaptation I can think of.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >8 hours long
      no thanks

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        believe it or not, it's worth every second. i'm yet to read the book so i can't comment on film vs. book though.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I've seen the film and rather enjoyed it.
      Is the book still worth reading?

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Agree with this one. Krasznahorkai is a hack but Tarr's films are insanely good. I'd say perhaps The Turin Horse is even better, but Satantango is definitely the most memorable.

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >What adaptation is better than the original book
    Forrest Gump and The Shawshank Redemption

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Requiem for a Dream
    Arguably American Psycho

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Stephen King himself believed the movie adaptation of "The Mist" was better than the original story.

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    [log in to view media]

    >better than the original book in your opinion?
    i'm thinking of ending things is better than I'm Thinking of Ending Things.

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The Godfather

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Barry Lyndon
    Lord of the Rings
    No Country for Old Men
    Starship Troopers

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    orson welles' othello

  14. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    [log in to view media]

    >What adaptation is better than the original book in your opinion?
    Total Recall
    Omega Man
    Goldfinger
    The Running Man
    The Hollow Man (at least when it comes to portraying the monstrous side of the invisible man)
    I'm sure there are others of course but these are the ones that come to mind

  15. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pleb tier but the film version of Gone Girl is like taking a piece of runny shit and making it into a garden gnomeel. Fuck that horribly written book

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Didn't read the book but I thought the film was garbage.

  16. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    [log in to view media]

    picrel
    the movie is better because it's shorter

  17. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Unironically season one of Game of Thrones.

  18. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Think I remember Chuck himself saying the Fight Club movie was better than his book.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      For me they are just as good.

  19. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Unironically season one of Game of Thrones.

  20. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    None. The book is with one exception always better than the movie. Only a troglodyte would think otherwise.

  21. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Pretty much every Kubrik film except for e-boita, and even then it was still a pretty good adaptation.

  22. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's never better. Screen adaptations are soulless and evil. The fucking arrogance to think that you can take someone's well words in a book and reduce it to dogshit is insulting.

  23. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    the shining book was pretty bad imo. movie was kino tho

  24. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Fight Club
    Paths of Glory

  25. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    One flew over the cuckoo's nest, the single greatest movie of all time

  26. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >harry potter series
    obvious, but
    >the shawshank redemption

  27. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Perfect Blue.

  28. 1 week ago
    Anonymous

    Ready Player One
    By far the worst book I've ever read (I don't deliberately look forward to read bad books), but the movie is quite nice (although silly)

    • 1 week ago
      Anonymous

      Really? I read the first five sentences, seemed kinda interesting

    • 1 week ago
      Anonymous

      I hated the movie so much I couldn't finish it, now I'm curious how bad the book must be

  29. 1 week ago
    Anonymous

    Jaws. The book has them return to shore every night, ruining the tension from hunting the shark

Your email address will not be published.