Which license do you pick for your intellectual property (code, content, etc) and why?

Home Forums General & off-topic Which license do you pick for your intellectual property (code, content, etc) and why?

Viewing 43 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous

What’s the license you usually use and why?

I’m a coder and I strongly dislike GPL, the idea behind it is so freaking stupid. you’re basically trying to "infect" other people’s code with your political ideas by using it. But I also think that MIT, BSD and similar licenses are a bit too permissive, so idk.

Anonymous

I leave my code unlicensed to filter the scrotebrains who believe in the intellectual property psyop.

Anonymous

woke af, I’ll copy this behavior

Anonymous

very woke af

Anonymous

Simply the best.

Anonymous

woke af
        there should be a license that forbids using the the code if you read the license

Anonymous

I mean if you have no license, it defaults to the most restrictive interpret of intellectual property in favor of the owner (you). So if you’re saying you’re "filtering" people by forcing them to break what you consider an illegitimate law, that’s fair enough. Is what I would say if you had any code anyone wanted to use.

Anonymous
      Anonymous
        Anonymous

This

Anonymous

Is +scrote a GPL compatible license?

Anonymous

+scrote is compatible with every license. It’s simply a clause that does nothing but obligates licensees to add a couple of meaningless words to all reproductions of the license.

Something that people don’t seem to understand is that a license is something that you GIVE people.
          You, the author, always retain full intellectual ownership over the product unless explicitly given away.
          Licenses are simply an agreement to not sue someone for using your software, as long as they submit to some conditions.

Anonymous

Woah thanks, I’m illiterate when it comes to this.
            I’ll make sure my next project uses +scrote.